The phone is ringing, and I don't recognize the number,
All Caller ID says is, "NAME UNAVAILABLE".
Please help me figure out who is calling and what they want
15 calls reported from this number. According to 2 reports the identity of this caller is Yellow Pages
| Who Called | Caller ID | Date |
|---|---|---|
| [too-thick-accent-something] Yellow Pages | TOLL FREE | 2009-06-29 |
| Yellow Pages | Christine | 2010-03-12 |
| Yellow Pages | 800 Service | 2008-07-11 |
| unknown | LAYP | 2010-02-08 |
| unknown | Toll free | 2008-07-01 |
| not shown | Toll Free | 2009-12-04 |
| CEI | Toll Free | 2008-07-10 |
| "Local Yellow Pages" | 2009-09-23 | |
| "local area yellow pages" | Tollfree Number | 2010-01-06 |
| unavailable | 2009-11-03 | |
| 800 Service | 2009-06-11 | |
| Unknown Name | 2009-06-01 | |
| Unknown | 2009-04-21 | |
| tollfree number | 2009-02-05 | |
| not provided | 2008-07-31 |
20 Comments
This is from the Yellow Pages
The phone rings, I see the number and answer, no one there. After research I find out that is basically a scam from a company named Local Area Yellow Pages. They ask you verify several existing legitimate Yellow Page ads about your company, then charge extra per month. Do not answer any questions about your Yellow Page ad over the phone.
This is from Yellow pages. There are numerous companies now that call and try to verify information for their Data base. Super pages is another one. Do not answer any questions, they'll act as if they are doing you a service by updating your information but they're really trying to sell you services. I've heard of some cased of people receiving a bill in the mail after they provide updated info. Total scam
foreignor with bad accent called to scam ads with your info, asked her if she was calling from banglades-india, haha
These people call every few weeks. Say they are from Local Area Yellow Pages. Why would I need to verify company information every few weeks? I tell them nothing has changed in 2 years and it's against policy to verify company information on the phone. I have had to have Quest put a freeze on my long distance carrier because I've already been slammed by MCI and another company this year. TOTAL SCAM!!
They call at all hours of the day and night. They say they are calling to update our yellow pages. I already have my yellow pages book and ad so they can NOT be updating anything. I told them not to call me again.
I was told by the caller that Local Yellow Pages was confirming my information. She read off my address/phone then asked if it was correct. Of course, nothing has changed for 40 years! Then she asked if I was still with Qwest. Why would Yellow Pages want to confirm that?! Unless they want to SCAM you. She became rude (demanding to speak with the person who would know). I am THAT person but did not want to answer stupid questions and I was suspicious. It seems that they want to switch my service provider or services. I told the caller to take me off the list and she was very rude.
they hung up
Hang up!!!
People, this lowlife scumbags need to be put out of the public's misery. When they call, immediately return call them at their toll-free number, and their main number (415) 982-3455 Express to them, in no uncertain terms, how you do not wish to be bothered by such scumbags. Also, mass fax them at (415) 788-3458 and e-mail bomb them at localyp.com This is the ONLY way these pieces of garbage will get it through their thick heads to leave you alone. I would also file complaints with the BBB, Califorina AG's office, FTC and FCC. All these sites are on the web, and it costs you nothing to file a complaint. They need to be put out of business
Principal: Mr. Chris Chen, Executive Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Patrice Kair, Compliance
Here's some more info for ya: The Cell Phone number of Patrice Kair is 415-710-9069. Just start calling that number back over and over, every time they call you. Tell her how much you hate annoying phone calls. Let her know how you REALLY feel. Call her morning, noon and night to remind her.
Here's some more information on these crooks:
Corporation
LOCAL AREA YELLOW PAGES, INC.
Number: C2435774 Date Filed: 8/15/2003 Status: active
Jurisdiction: NEVADA
Address
353 SACRAMENTO ST STE 1500
SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94111
Agent for Service of Process
BOK YUNG
353 SACRAMENTO ST STE 1500
SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94111
Have at it
Apparently this is
C E I India Pvt Ltd
6th Floor The Oval, Venkatnarayana Road, T Nagar
Chennai, India (see ceiamerica.com ) But the "Siebel horizontals/verticals: Call Center" appears to be hubbed in Bangalore at Accenture -- not a surprise connection for Accenture!
The caller CLAIMS to represent some kind of Yellow Pages .. which MIGHT actually be legitimate, although I'd doubt it, even apart from the other commenters, here.
"hatethieves" below, claims it's a San Francisco company which if I recall correctly, is totally bogus -- a "yellow pages" website which seldom confirms accuracy, does not remove entries when asked, nor place you on a do-not-call list which is maintained, and may have "additional services" in their fine print. I COULD be wrong in the identification, so many places claim to be "Yellow Pages", any more. Their call comes several days after delivery of the most recent phone book, about which I actually spoke with the publishing company (in Utah). So, it's NOT them.
This is the first I've run across "Chris Chen" or "Patrice Kair", in the comments below.
I'd have to echo "JF"'s comment: "Do not answer any questions about your Yellow Page ad over the phone." Even with LEGITIMATE Yellow Pages producers, I've had significant problems with proper listings and placements, whether QwestDex, or Verizon, or others -- and fixing a white pages listing is even worse!
So, has this TOLLFREE migrated from one call center to another since the earliest entries, here, in 2008? Or is it the same place? Or the same place, but different call center? Hard to say. Is "Local Area Yellow Pages" the same as localyp.com ?
If so, see: ripoffreport.com and another at ripoffreport.com and a similar report at quillnewspaper.com plus the 25 BBB complaints at bbb.org as of June 29, 2009
They call, claiming to want to confirm your address. When they called me, the asked if my phone number was XXX-XXX-XXXX "with Verizon". Why "with Verizon"?? They will use this so they can bill you through your phone bill. Never tell them your carrier. No "business listing" needs to know who provides your phone service - and if they persist, they are a scam. Also, as a general rule when talking to telemarketers, NEVER EVER say the word "Yes". If they ask a yes/no question, use "that is correct" or something.
Hey, they called me again. Funny stuff... When I told them I don't authorize any charges, they asked for the owner. Told them I'm the owner, and I'm not authorizing any charges. Then they asked if there was someone else who was authorized to talk to??? No, I'm the owner - there is no higher authority here! These scammers are funny stuff..
Here's some more information on these no good bastard crooks:Report to the FCC,BBB and any other agency in your area.
Corporation
LOCAL AREA YELLOW PAGES, INC.
Address
353 SACRAMENTO ST STE 1500
SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94111
Agent for Service of Process
BOAZ YUNG 415-877-0088
PATRICE KAIR 415-710-9069
CHERIE YUNG 415-722-2287
JUAN PEREZ 707-704-6685
Got our company name wrong, even after I answered saying the name. I hung up as soon as I heard "we're calling from local area yellow pages-" I have no patience for these time vampires.
This number is calling to check & see if you're home.
They are scam artist trying to case your home. If you notice people on or near your property with cameras, call your police department immediately!
Some people will come to your door asking to do snow removal or yard work. A few names gathered is Bill Marshall, Jane Marshall, Tiffany Ernspiker, all arrived in Louisville, Ky. recently.
BEWARE!
These people are snoops. They claim to be looking to rent houses.
The homes their scouting out are not for rent in the Louisville, Ky. area.
Beware these people may just be renting your home without your knowledge!
Traced one license plate to Sure Point Lending, West Ormbsby Station Rd. in Louisville, Ky.with a Mt. Washington, Ky. Address. Same location as the old High Speed Acesss Company.
Weird?
Who the hell is William Francis Marshall 111 ? Jane E. Marshall ? Leslie Lyons, Tiffany Ernspiker, & Roman Rodriguez?? All work or have homes in Prospect, Ky., Louisville, Ky. & Mount Washington. What is their connection? Someone out there was smart enough to put these people together. They all pack a camera.
Beware.
We get two to four calls a week from these people who claim to be from Yellow Pages. Then we may have a week or two off and then the calls start again. We have told them countless times to take our name off their list and that we are on the No Call List and we have NO connection with them. But they keep calling. Each time they tell us they will take our number off their list but of course they don't. We tell them NO, NO, NO each time but they continue to call. I'm sick of it.