Report a phone call from 8002248606
[Show map]Calls From (800) 224-8606
56 calls reported from this number. According to 2 reports the identity of this caller is Apollo Mortgage
How do I stop them from calling?
- Ask the unwanted caller to stop calling and put you on their do not call list (they are legally required to comply).
- If your number is registered with the National Do Not Call Registry you can file a complaint with the FTC.
- Block them with a call blocker:
Uniden DECT1288 blocks up to 20 numbers, plus Private and Unknown, with the reject tone, without ringing the phone.
Panasonic KX-TG106 blocks up to 30 numbers, plus all unidentified callers, with a busy tone, after the phone rings once.
JF Teck Caller ID with Ring Controller blocks up to 70 numbers, and can be set to always allow up to 100 to ring through.
34 Comments
All -
Log complaints @ donotcall.gov
The more complaints that are logged, the more the government can do to prosecute
these companies. I've gotten calls from 800-224-8606, 786-347-6129, 714-689-0256
and 443-345-1636. All these numbers are "dummy" caller id numbers.
The caller is in several violations of the FTC's directive. See the FTC's Website:
ftc.gov
“Companies that you do business with may call for 18 months. If you ask a company for
information, it may call for three months.”
“Telemarketers must tell you it’s a sales call, the name of the seller and what they’re
selling before they make their pitch.”
Received call from this number but did not answer. No message left. I sometimes will turn on my fax machine to intercept these calls, but glad I did not this time after reading info below. I never answer 800 number calls either. Like one said below, if it is important and legit, they will leave a message.
Caller did not leave message. Called on Monday at 12:10 PM.
Hard to understand thick accent, asked for a last name when told wrong number repeated my number and then said "Oh, you are the one with a time share" I said no and hung up.
These people are trying to sell time share or buy your time share. We are on the Do Not Call list. And they call everyday. We have asked them
to take us off there list. and they still call us. They also use another number.
First off any "800 # "I Will Never ANSWER" but, IF ya took the time, you are now considered a customoor, so expect many more calls... IF You do not know who' callling never ANSWER, if it important, you will get a message...
Man with thick Indian accent asked questions that seemed to "verify" information readily found on WHOIS records for domain accounts. I suspect once they confirm a person at the phone/address on record, they will send a letter requesting urgent renewal for the domain name. The domain they contacted me regarding was a recently expired domain. I specifically asked what his company name was, and he only reiterated he was with "Domain Registry Support." This warrants a report to the FTC's DO NOT CALL complaint page: donotcall.gov. I am on the DO NOT CALL registry and this company violated adherence.
I feel like a spammer now, but it seems somehow possibly tied to the Noah's Classifieds I am (maybe was) ;) running on the site, was anyone else running this and got the same sort of approach, not sure if they could try to see my cookies, etc. and look for passwords
I don't really get that much SPAM, as an additional addendum- the fact that I also got one where they wanted me to log in and prolong my ad at the same website's blog with which they called me about has me a tad annoyed/nervous since the link seems to show up the same as on the system tray (not going to click on it ofcourse) but who knows what other spyware may have found its way to my computer? Perhaps I'm paranoid ;) but if anyone out there is looking for these people here is another lead for you related to this spam I got coincidentally about the same website they were calling for today (at least this is the domain the email was sent from anyway)-PHPoutsourcing.com:
sorry, per addfreestats.com it was at 10:30 today 7/23/08
Anyway, this visitor to my website sticks out like a sore thumb since I don't really get many visitors to my website from India- and they visited right around the same time I got the phone call about this very same domains phone number- it contains the IP address they used but I'm not sure how helpful that'd be
HostName : 121.243.74.235
IP : 121.243.74.235
Last Visit : New
ISP: GURGAON- LEASED LINE INOX GLOBAL SERVICES LTD
Country: INDIA
Region/State: HARYANA
City: GURGAON
Domain: United States
Language: English US
Browser: MSIE [Win XP]
Screen Res: 1024x768 65,536 colors (16 bit)
Javascript: Enabled
Page Views: 1
Daily Visits: 1
Visit Length: 0 minute(s) 0 second
Entry Page: The Used and Discount Study Guide Exchange at usedstudyguides.com
Exit Page: The Used and Discount Study Guide Exchange at usedstudyguides.com
Referring URL:
Same thing happened to me today, a caller with an Indian accent wanted me to "update" information in my domain registry for usedstudyguides.com however what they really wanted was a fax number (I don't have one listed). I imagine they probably want to "spam" fax machines with goofy OTC stock quotes or something. I wouldn't give them your number. of course, they're probably already collecting the ones that are listed in whois (mine isn't), weird that they'd bother to call for it though when theres probably so many others out there- not sure the whole story, I guess
toll free call so i didnt answer. and after reading all the comments below, im glad i didnt....
Dead air. Told caller my # is on the Do Not Call List and I would be filing a complaint. When they called back two days later I filed a complaint with the FCC and included information from this page.
A caller from "Domain Registry Support" requested my fax number for a company that I control in name only. She the company name and contact details were probably obtainable through a Who Is database for website registrations.
The caller had a heavy East European accent (probably Russian or Ukrainian) and only wanted my fax number. She fould not email me an "important" domain name notification because the company or organization was experiencing technical difficulties. She volunteered a phony website domainregistrysupport.com.
More details are available if you refer to the following reference at michaelrighi.com
also someone claiming to be from the domain registration. They wanted to verfiy all my who is information on my domain and wanted a fax number. I told them I didnt have one, so they asked for an alternate fax number. I told them I perfer to have them send any info via email. They said thanks and ended the call.
Very suspisious..
Same as the above reports: Domain Registry Services, heavy indian accent, asked for my fax number, hung up when I asked what company she represented.
I just received a call from this number saying that she was with Domain Registry Services (she said that's the company name) that that they had important info to send me but they couldn't send it to the Yahoo email account I have listed on my Whois info. I asked her what they had to do with my domain and she thanked me for my time and hung up. I tried to call it back a few times and I get a few seconds of silence and then it hangs up.
Called my cell phone and said she was with some sort of Domain Registry and wanted my fax number. Female, Eastern Indian accent. She said I needed to update my domain registry information. When I asked if she was with my Host company, she said no, but still wanted a fax number. When I told her that I preferred to rec'v correspondence via email, she got frustrated and hung up. This plainly smells of scam.
Skyped this number - it immediately hung-up before ringing. Sounds like the same type of domain-slamming scammers at whocalled.us and whocalled.us
Thursday 21 February 2008. A male caller with a Hindu or from India tone stated they are from Apollo Mortgage in Michigan asking if I was interested in re-financing my mortgage on my property that thay had the address to.
I told him that I did not want to re-finance but needed a mortgage for new a new property to purchase. Twice he did not understand my request and wanted to put his supervisor on the line. I told him I was too busy in a meeting and to call back the next day at the say time.
no message left
Said needed my fax and office number. Female with Heavy Hindu accent.I asked her for her email or web address and she said she was unable to send or receive emails at this time, yeah right, a domain registry without website or email. She Wanted tax and checking info, got frustrated and hung up when I asked her name and company address.
HARASSING CALLS CONTACT POLICE. STOP THIS NBR FROM CALLING THIS HOUSE MY NBR 504 834 6025
THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE
LUCILLE LE BON 425 SENA DR METARIE LA 70005
Called our business line using information obtained from a domain name registry. Tried to get information about our office address. Woman's voice but I'd say it was more of a Carribean accent than Indian.
an idian guy calls and says threating things. If they call you don't anwser!!!! Calls me by name.
I answered and there was nothing (like an autodialer) so I hung up.
Called and asked for me by name,woman had a very heavy Indian accent.
Asked for Edie Gureara. Told him he has the wrong #. He proceeds to tell me what a pretty voice I have. What a SICKO!!!!
this caller has called several times, and after asking "who's there" twice will ask for a "Mr. McBride." That's obviously not me. Then, when I tell them it's not me, they disagree!!! Why isn't this illegal? Please block this number from my phone immediately.
Constantly calls even beyond 8pm. Upon many pickups, there is nothing, just dead air, upon calling number there is an indian voice asking you to punch in an extension - thats it.
Constant caller. Never leaves a message.
Did not leave message. Do not know who this is
called while I was gone.
Did not leave message